Mühle Forchtenberg

Mühle Forchtenberg – Forchtenberg, Germany

Key Service: Hotel Planning & Development
Location: Forchtenberg, Germany
Product: Feasibility Study, Plausibility check of the lease and value indication, Economic efficiency calculation

Overview

The town of Forchtenberg planned to use the dilapidated Kochermühle in the town area as a hotel and restaurant.
The historic core of the town with its medieval old town, including the mill, is a listed building. Since the 1970s, Forchtenberg has succeeded in redeveloping its town center, including its historic ambience, while at the same time building up a good infrastructure. Accordingly, the town is considered a prime example of the successful coexistence of the old and the new.
The intention of the sellers and the client is to preserve the mill as a part of Forchtenberg with access for the inhabitants. The Office for the Protection of Historical Monuments is in favor of renovating or converting the mill into a hotel.

Solution

The city of Forchtenberg commissioned Prof. Dr. Christian Buer to prepare the evaluation or site assessment (feasibility study) as well as a plausibility study of the lease and value indication of a hotel at the Kochermühle site in Forchtenberg. The study included a location analysis, a market and competition analysis, a SWOT analysis, the creation of a product concept and the profitability forecast.

Implementation

The project site is located in the flood zone of the municipality. A comprehensive modernization of the flood protection system has already been approved and the construction work required for this is planned for a period in 2023 and 2024. Parallel construction works for the flood protection and the planned hotel are not possible, which is why a start of construction for the hotel object is possible in 2024 at the earliest, but more likely in 2025. In addition, there are delays due to the Corona pandemic.

Muehle
Mühle

Mühle Forchtenberg

Mühle Forchtenberg – Forchtenberg, Deutschland

Beratungsleistung: Hotel Planung & Entwicklung
Ort: Forchtenberg, Deutschland
Produkt: Machbarkeitsstudie, Plausibilisierung der Pacht und Wertindikation, Wirtschaftlichkeitsberechnung

Überblick

Die Stadt Forchtenberg plante die im Stadtgebiet liegende baufällige Kochermühle einer Nutzung als Hotel- und Gastronomiebetrieb zuzuführen.
Der historische Kern der Ortschaft mit seiner mittelalterlichen Altstadt steht inklusive der Mühle als Gesamtanlage unter Denkmalschutz. Forchtenberg ist es bereits ab den 1970er Jahren gelungen, seine Innenstadt samt historischen Ambiente zu sanieren und gleichzeitig eine gute Infrastruktur aufzubauen. Dementsprechend gilt die Stadt als ein Musterbeispiel für das gelungene Nebeneinander von Altem und Neuem.
Das Ansinnen der Verkäufer und des Auftraggebers ist der Erhalt der Mühle als Teil von Forchtenberg mit Zugang für die Einwohner. Das Denkmalschutzamt befürwortet eine Renovierung bzw. Umgestaltung der Mühle zum Hotel.

Lösung

Die Stadt Forchtenberg hat Prof. Dr. Christian Buer beauftragt, die Evaluierung bzw. Standortbeurteilung (Feasibility Studie) sowie eine Plausibilisierung der Pacht und Wertindikation eines Hotels am Standort Kochermühle in Forchtenberg zu erstellen. Die Untersuchung beinhaltete eine Standortanalyse, eine Markt- und Wettbewerbsanalyse, eine SWOT-Analyse, das Erstellen einer Produktkonzeption und die Wirtschaftlichkeitsvorausschau.

Umsetzung

Der Projektstandort befindet sich im Hochwassergebiet der Gemeinde. Eine umfassende Modernisierung des Hochwasserschutzes ist bereits genehmigt und die hierfür notwendigen Bauarbeiten für einen Zeitraum in den Jahren 2023 und 2024 geplant. Parallele Bauarbeiten für den Hoch- wasserschutz und das geplante Hotel sind nicht möglich, weshalb ein Baubeginn für das Hotelobjekt frühestens im Jahr 2024, eher jedoch im Jahr 2025 möglich ist. Hinzu kommen Verzögerungen durch die Corona Pandemie.